What’s New September 2007

This page lists changes to this site for September 2007.

See below for other updates and to get notified of changes to the site.

The Arctic region has long been considered international territory. Five countries—Canada, Denmark (via Greenland), Norway, Russia, and the United States—share a border with the frozen Arctic Ocean. Some of these nations have claimed parts of the region to be their territory. Underlying the interests in the area are potentially vast oil, gas and other resources, as well as the opening up of lucrative passages for trade and economic activity. As a result, these nations have been vying for dominance in the Arctic. This new page provides an overview of the rivalry.

A short video clip was added to this water article, noting water becoming a geopolitical issue for places such as the US, Europe and China.

You can also